Loading... Please wait...

Popular Brands

Our Newsletter


The silver “disme” was among the original coins envisioned by Congress when it authorized the first U.S. coins in 1792.  Now known as the “Dime,” the coin has a value of 10 cents – although, interestingly,  the value has appeared on the coin only as “One Dime” (not “10 Cents”) since 1837. 

 The first Dime was struck by the U.S. Mint in 1796.  The Draped Bust design was made from 1796 to 1807.  Like the silver Half Dime and Quarter of this era, the denomination did not appear in any form on this coin.  Instead, the public was expected to know that the coin was valued at 10 cents.  It was not until the Capped Bust design in 1809 that the denomination (“10 C.” on the reverse) was included in the design. 

 The Liberty Seated Dime that was introduced in 1837 featured the same basic design as the Liberty Seated Half Dime, Quarter, and Half Dollar issued at the same time.  It was followed by the Barber Dime in 1892, the Winged Liberty Head Dime – better known as the Mercury Dime – in 1916, and the Roosevelt Dime in 1946.

 The Roosevelt Dime was first issued in 1946 to honor Franklin D. Roosevelt, who died in office in 1945 while serving his record fourth term as President.  The 1964 coin was the final Dime issued for circulation in silver;  in 1965, the composition changed to copper-nickel due to the rising cost of silver bullion.  

Check out some of our Dimes